1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to old friends

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Closeted17, Sep 5, 2014.

1. Closeted17

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    So I graduated high school a few months ago and afterwards (for obvious reasons) came out of the closet to my internet friends and my family and to new people I meet if it gets brought up. I didn't come out to any existing friends in real life because I purposefully cut off communication with everyone I went to school with because they often make homophobic jokes, in what I assume is an "innocent" attempt at comedy.

Anyways, I just started university and have run into at least half a dozen of these kids at my new school, and we've gone and got lunch after classes already.

I want to be out to everyone in my life but I'm finding it really difficult to tell them. I'll probably to it one at a time and face-to-face, but for some reason even though I thought I was really confident in myself and my sexuality, I choke and get really nervous.

How can I like convince myself to tell them and what's the best way? Something somewhat funny? Like... they're mostly stereotypical straight guys who use the word "gay" as an insult but probably don't mean harm, especially since I live in a state with a large part of the population being democrats (likely their parents and via parental/cultural indoctrination, them as well).

I just don't know how to go about doing this at all and it makes me feel really nervous and sick still keeping this secret from anybody... Help:help:

2. wardrobeescaper

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people