1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on Transitioning to Being Publicly Out

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by ClimbHikeBike, Sep 5, 2014.

1. ClimbHikeBike

At the moment I'm only out to a select group of close, trusted friends and a couple close family members (but not my parents). I graduated from college earlier this summer, I'm moving away from home to start work, and I'd like to be out to everyone there. I want to be myself, meet new LGBT friends, and start dating. Despite that, I have some worries.

1) I'm not yet ready to come out to my parents. I'll be a fairly long way from home, so there's little immediate worry about them finding out, but there's still social media as well as the possibility that someone accidentally lets something slip around my parents if they visit. I don't want to have to do this whole spiel every time I come out: "So yeah, I'm gay, but my parents don't know yet so I'd appreciate it if you wouldn't post anything about it on <popular social media site> or say anything about it if they're ever around." I've said that sort of thing to the few who currently know, but it's tiring, and it's not fair to those who I'm telling. I don't want to have to qualify things when I come out. I just want to be out, period.

2) On one hand it's nice to have such a carefully curated group of people I'm out to because it gives me a sense of security, but on the other hand I just want to be out. That's scary, though. Coming out to close friends is a big leap, but it's another big(ger?) leap to be out to everyone. The idea of not necessarily being able to keep track of who knows and who doesn't is both exciting and scary.

I can't be the only one who's dealt with this. Any advice?

2. wolf of fire