1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Some Advice

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by pranbran, Sep 11, 2014.

1. pranbran

Hi Everyone!

I have been having a few issues with my parents ever since coming out a few months ago, and I really don't know what to do anymore. I could really use some advice about this, as I'm going to be seeing my parents next week. (I no longer live with them ever since I graduated from college about five years ago...I'm about two hours away)

I met my wonderful girlfriend at the end of January, and we have been together ever since. Keep in mind that my girlfriend is African American and I am Indian American (as in Subcontinent Indian, not Native American...). I promise it'll be important.

I said nothing to my parents about my girlfriend at first because I wanted to be sure this was really going to be something before I brought them in. By April, though, it was pretty clear that we were going strong and it wasn't going to be ending anytime soon. So I told my mother when she came to stay with me one weekend. She initially said that it was fine, that she didn't quite understand but she wanted me to be happy and that was the most important thing. I honestly thought I was in the clear. I even showed her a picture of my girlfriend that night, although she still seemed pretty uncomfortable about it.