1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virgin Lesbian Wants to Come Out?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by LittleDrifter, Sep 20, 2014.

1. LittleDrifter

It's rather embarrassing to say this, but it's an issue that has been nagging at me.

I'm getting to a point, were I want to come out, but I’m a virgin in near every sense of the term. I have never experienced sexual contact from anyone of any gender. Nothing beyond sexual tension during normal touching (hand-brushing, hugs, etc.). The closest I've come to an intimate emotional relationship was a long unofficial courtship with a guy I thought I liked, but didn't. My desires for other women (always one-sided) was/is very active, however.

My issue is that I feel like I can’t come out unless I have some sexual/intimate experience with a woman to back it up. My desire to come out has less to do with finding a partner and more about being honest.

Do you think I can come out as gay/lesbian without ever having had a partner? Should I wait until I do? Am I being silly worrying about this? I'm just looking for opinions.:slight_smile:

2. Fallingdown7

Fallingdown7 Guest

You don't need to have experience to come out. I've never done anything and I've been out for 10 years

3. RainbowMan

Agreed, you don't need to have experience to come out - you know who you are better than anyone else, and whether or not you have experience doesn't really matter - if you're ready to come out, then do it!

Lots of people find it useful to come out prior to having experience, that way they don't feel the need to hide their relationship from the people around them.

4. IJustWantToLove

Hey LittleDrifter =)
    I totally get where you're coming from, I'm pretty much the same in this regards, I guess.