1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need to get out of this funk

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by TonyStark, Oct 12, 2014.

1. TonyStark

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Its been very easy to mask and hide my feelings for years. Now that I graduated college and have had the past few months to myself, the overwhelming though that I am gay has really bothered me and has turned me into an introvert and I hate how I feel. Lot of confusions in my life right now like what career path I take and all that, but the hardest thing has been thinking about my future and not having someone. I had a goal to tell a few close people by the end of the summer, and I did...but it didn't really help too much. I think it will be something I only tell a handful of people in my life and not show much because its not what I want to be really.

I talked with my sister and one of my best friends and they were both very supportive and shocked but then I built up the courage to talk with my mom after being very frustrated, and she said she doesn't get it at all and to never say it to anyone again and that I would lose all my friends and be an outcast and not fit in anymore.

I have always had an attraction to older guys (40s 50s) since I can remember, but always had sports and fraternity and many things to keep it in the back of my mind until now. My mom said she has never seen any signs and that I am too smart and manly and how I am friends with all manly guys (I actually don't really have any girl friends and never have), and am solely attracted to older masculine guys, and I just don't get it. I am going to keep this all quiet again because I don't think many of my friends are mature enough to understand that if I am gay, it doesn't mean I like any of them or are any different. And the fact that Im only into older guys is just harder and weird to explain.