1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with coming out

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Theonesthatfear, Oct 17, 2014.

1. Theonesthatfear

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    i'm gay and this is my last year in high school. when i first realized i was gay i wanted to come out, i thought it would be quick and a lot of people will support me, but in reality i have friends but none of them are really close to me and so i'm scared that if i come out i won't have that one person who would support me.

i wanted to talk to the counsellor but I'm scared I'm going to be the talk of the school. my school isn't very big and gossips spread fast too. i don't know who i should come out to and i don't want to come out to my parents yet.

This is my last year and i want real friends who would support me in the future( since I'm studying abroad) , if i don't come out this year then i would be lying to my friends and also i won't know who would really stay. I really don't want to hide it anymore but every time i try to come out i get really scared. What should i do?:tears:

2. PatrickUK

Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    You could 'test the water' first. If you hear of a well known person coming out you could mention it in a conversation and see how your friends react. Try to find a way of raising the subject of same sex relationships without coming out yourself and if all goes well and they seem positive you can decide to take it from there. Is that something you could do?

3. VanityInSanity

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all