1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sick of hiding, terrified of telling

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by sofie, Nov 2, 2014.

1. sofie

sofie Guest

I'm 22 and I have been questioning for about 2 years now. I have had two serious relationships in my teens with men and I did love them at the time. Now, however I have no interest in men, I think about women all the time and I can only see myself with a woman in the future. My only experience with a woman is kissing and I've always enjoyed kissing girls more than boys but repressed those "wrong" feelings.

I grew up in a very small town where being gay was very weird and frowned upon and I kinda knew I was at least bi when 10 but as I said, had to repress it because it wasn't right in the eyes of the community I grew up in. I had no gay role models as a kid and it's only now I've started to look at coming out videos or reading books with a lesbian couple that I truly feel like I am myself and that being gay is what I am and I'm okay with it.

I think I should mention that I have been going trough a period of depression and self-hatred since about the age of 14 and mostly due to me repressing such a big part of myself. And now, when I have had counseling for years I have come to terms with myself and it's still tricky at times.

I'm not okay with my family or other people in my life finding out though. I'm terrified they will shut me out of their lives and I'll be alone. I'm at a loss of what to do and I would appreciate some advice.

The main issue is that I am sick of hiding and not being able to be myself, it makes my mental health worse, but at the same time the thought of telling my family makes me ill. Some of my close friends know and they're all very supportive but they're all straight and I have no one to talk about this stuff..

I'd appreciate all the advice and support I could get, thank you!

2. PatrickUK