1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is "coming out" just asking for judgment?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Curtis16, Nov 5, 2014.

1. Curtis16

Out Status:
    A few people
    I promise I don't mean this to be controversial or offensive in any way. Just personally, as I've been considering how to navigate letting others know about the changes I'm going through, I realized I don't know how I feel about "coming out." I feel like setting it up as a specific event or revelation sort of asks for shock and judgment.
    The alternative would be to just BE MYSELF! So never explicitly bring it up to people but cease hiding anything. So if I felt like cross dressing or something then I'd just do it and if people saw me or saw pictures of me then they can infer or judge or ask me or whatever, but it's on them because I'm just being me. Does this make sense?

[disclaimer: I'm new to all this and have only recently "come out" to myself. Please don't bite my head off for being a noob]

2. resu

Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    No, it is informing others since the majority of people assume others are straight. I came out because I wanted to be honest to others. That said, you don't need to come out to everyone. So far, I've just done it to close, trustworthy friends and my mom. It's tough, but I knew I needed to do it if I want to be in a relationship. I guess that was my real motivation. Having read so many stories on here, I saw that being in the closet can not work long term if you want a full, loving relationship without getting super paranoid.

3. Curtis16

Out Status:
    A few people