1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Responsibility that's just hit me

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Bookmarked, Oct 14, 2008.

1. Bookmarked

This problem has nothing to do with my sexuality. Nothing at all. However, you folks on EC know what you're talking about when it comes to advice, so I thought I'd ask what you think.

I'm a medical student. For the last three years of my life, virtually everything I've done has been to become a medical student. I've competed against hundreds of other students for my place here at university. And I'm thrilled. I'm loving university living (the unusual combination of independence and depedency). I'm loving the learning, the science and everything. I'm loving the people, what with the kooky hairstyles and cute guys. And friends, too. That's not my problem.

We've had a whole long set of lectures and practicals on Emergency Medicine. That's CPR and Basic Life Support. That sort of thing. And I'm now terrified. Suddenly, I'm not just a medical student. I'm trained and expected to know what I'm doing. It sounds like paranoia, I know, but it has some basis in fact. In about three/four months, I could be in an A&E room being asked to do chest compressions. As little as my role might play, I'm going to be dealing with lives. And it's just hit me that my action, inaction and what I've learned and forgotten could well determine if someone lives or dies. I knew that this would happen. In fact, it's one of the reasons why I took medicine. But I didn't know it was happening so soon.