1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out, confused and depression. (Long post)

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by garabaldi22, Dec 20, 2014.

1. garabaldi22

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi all,
    Well I came out recently this year and I've been questioning it for almost 10 years. This feelings towards guys started in middle school and I never told anyone. I was raised by a very strict family towards gays and was always afraid about opening up about my feelings to my parents. Anyway in my last year of college I was roomed with a gay guy. I didn't find him that interested, only because he wanted me to switch out roommates before the semester started, so I was pissed at him and I figured I wouldn't like him. Well, that changed when I got to know him and I felt like this connection with him. I later found out that I had a thing for him. I later told him about my feelings towards him, but he told me he wasn't ready for a relationship and then he started questioning me about my sexual orientation. I told him I was open to both, but I was scared to really tell him that I've always found men more attractive. I later went on to tell him the truth and it felt good to say it. I felt good, excited actually that I could express these feelings I've had for a while. I later told my close friends an they were okay with it. This then progressed to me telling my brothers, which was emotional, but before I could even continue I found myself with this tremendous fear of what they would think and say. Out of nowhere it felt like there was a switch that turned me off. I didn't feel anything anymore, I felt like I've lost myself.
    I went to therapy and talked to her about it and she told me that it was situational depression. I was okay to express these feelings and I let rejection and the opinion and doubt make go back into the closet.