1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Irrationally Confused

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by WhiteFlag, Dec 20, 2014.

1. WhiteFlag

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hi, I'm new to this and my thoughts are a bit scattered at the moment so please bear with me.

I am a lesbian, currently attending college in Mississippi. Going into college I wanted to be completely open about my sexuality and be free to discover and be myself. However, when I got here I quickly realized that that would be harder than I thought. Because my college is in the heart of the "Bible Belt" people here are generally very very religious and extremely close minded. A perfect example would be my roommate. She is a die hard Southern Baptist and extremely self absorbed. I quickly realized that in order to avoid any discrimination or hardship I would have to keep my sexuality under wraps. So far, I haven't met any girls who happen to be lesbian. I would love to have a meaningful relationship here but in order to do so I would have to be out, at least to some people.

I absolutely know that I am attracted to women, 100%. However, knowing that things would be so much easier if I was straight, every once in awhile I will think to myself "well, maybe I just haven't found the right guy". I know that this isn't the case but I still sometimes think this way. I even tried dating a guy and every time he kissed me I was very uncomfortable and almost repulsed by it. I'll talk myself into it, saying "Ok, this is the day you are going to tell somebody. You can do this. You're going to tell them you are lesbian and you'll feel so much better." But then something always happens, such as another guy liking me or someone saying something religious, and i'll think to myself "well, maybe I should wait. What if this guy could be the one" and I end up chickening out of telling people.