1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scared as hell- coming out to best buddy

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by TheSameRoad, Dec 22, 2014.

1. TheSameRoad

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hello everyone, I'm new to EC. lately I have seriously been considering telling my best friend that I am gay and since I have noone to talk to about this I figured I would share it with y'all in hopes of some advice. But beforehand I would like to give you some background into the situation and my friendship with him (Apologies if the story gets quite lengthy or if I include some redundant or irrelevant info).

I'm currently 18. I believe I've know I was gay since I have conscience. However, in my hometown back in Mexico being gay was probably not a very accepted concept, so to speak. So I never gave it that much thought or acted upon it. At that time and place, I thought gay and happy could not exist in the same world (Ah! Ironic that gay originally means happy:rolle:slight_smile:.

About 4 years ago, when I was 14, I moved to California from Mexico cause my parents had some business going on over here. I told them I was quite excited because I always wanted to learn English and this would be a great opportunity. Little did they know, though, that was aspiring to move here in hopes of being able to find myself and not be afraid of it and know that I could be happy. Anyhow, I began high school and throughout my first year I would only hang out with my 3 cousins and a few other of their friends, I literally knew nobody except for the 3 of them and I found it quite difficult to make friends mainly because I barely knew any English at all.