1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Options other than university??

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by spellbound118, Oct 19, 2008.

1. spellbound118

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Im currently studying business, ethics/philosophy and psychology at sixth form. I initially planned to go to university but i reaaaallly don't want to. My confidence is not going to be able to cope with more student life, i want to be out there working. However i don't want a stand still job, eg stacking shelves. I want one that has a ladder to climb, a way of moving upwards over time.

Anyone know of any jobs you can get of the back of a-levels that's not working in a retail shop??
    I would love to get a good job in london and move to live there. But im finding it hard to think how that is possible.

One way i have thought of is finishing a-levels while saving like mad, staying here for another year and working full time in a shop and saving loads. In that extra year getting secretarial courses under my belt and then gettin ga job down the business admin route.

Looking for advice and suggestions really, could that plan work? or is there a better plan? Or is it just not possible.

2. Mikeyy

well, you could try tafe, but that would require part-time study.

have you looked into apprenticeships? they span over all industries and offer plenty of room for advancement

3. Fiorino

Why don't you take a gap year, and then come back
    and see if you still aren't up for it.

4. Myke

Myke Guest

I took a year off after high school. Working 5-6 days a week, 8 hours a day and dealing with bitchy customers really makes school look real good.

5. NuthinButLuv

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone