1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need help

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by jc88, May 16, 2007.

1. jc88

jc88 Guest

For a long time I've known that I wasn't straight but it is only recently that I've been able to use the term gay in relation to myself. My problem is I'm terrified of telling anyone. A lot of people I know wouldn't react very well to it. It's so bad that I was even afraid to tell my roommate this past year (I'm now a sophomore in college) who was openly gay. Actually, this is the first time I've ever told anyone else.

I haven't a clue what I should do about this. It's like every time I think about saying something, some part of me screams "are you crazy?!" I just can't do it. I don't even know who I would tell. I'm sick of feeling this way. What's worse is that all of my friends keep trying to get me to go out with girls. I've even had some girls ask me out, I told them no, and when one of them asked if I was gay I said "definitely not." That was just last year.

The truth is, I want what all of my friends have. I see them holding hands with their boyfriends and girlfriends and I get so depressed because I can't have that. That and I'm afraid of never finding a relationship because my roommate is one of those "sleep with anyone" types and that's the mental image I have of gays. He fits into the classic stereotype and I don't, not at all...except for my dislike of sports. One of my friends actually called me the "straightest person they know."

I just don't know what to do. :frowning2: If you read all of this, thank you. At least someone knows the truth.

2. Hi jc88, welcome to EC.