1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Going Round in Circles

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by blueorange, Jan 23, 2015.

1. blueorange

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Struggling! Fighting with myself

Hi all,

I'm new here and I am hoping to come out to my parents later this year after worrying about this for several years now. Just a bit of background about my situation: I came to accept my sexuality at university and ever since then my life as a student has been awesome. So a big tick for self acceptance! Now that I'm in my final year, I feel that it is the right time to let my family know. In fact, I came out earlier than I expected to with my sister a month ago and she was perfectly fine with it (as I'd expected). However, the parents are a different story. I come from an Asian background and therefore with that comes the cultural pressures of being a strong family unit, having achievements to be proud of, a strong sense of discipline and never wanting to disappoint.