1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fear of invalidation; please help?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by floundering, Feb 6, 2015.

1. floundering

floundering Guest

Hello there :smilewave

So I've been questioning my gender for a couple months but never really delved into it until this past week. I've come to the conclusion that I feel genderfluid. I looked back on how I feel and my past experiences and drew my answer from there. I experience minor body disphoria (usually negligible if I'm not a wreck that day, rarely severe) irregularly, sometimes want to have a boy's body, other times I love that I have an hourglass figure. It's quite often that I wish I had a more androgynous or gender neutral body shape so that I can dress according to how I feel that day. But I don't. :bang: I am literally the epitome of a traditional feminine body. Older family members often try to compliment me on being dainty, curvaceous, and definitely not "packing on the pounds", but it often irritates me. Only on the days when I really feel like a girl do I truly accept the compliment.

I have a friend who is trans. He is kind, understanding, and just all around awesome. My problem with coming out to him and my other friend (we make a nice triangle) is that I never really had much knowledge or understanding of gender expression, pronouns, all of that stuff, when I met them. This is almost a year ago. When I began hanging out with them regularly I never had much trouble with the right pronouns. I've only slipped up a couple times because my speech get jumbled when I talk about several people at once. I actually cut ties with a friend over their disrespect for my trans friend when we were still only acquaintances.