1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out through the internet!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by The Falcon, Mar 15, 2015.

1. The Falcon

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Not to tell you my whole life story, but after going through series of self-revelations I just felt right to come out...

So considering that I am currently studying abroad, I came out to my best friend via Skype conversation, I insisted on camera and audio of course. After seeing the benefits of the coming out I was on a roll. and I came out to one older (but important person to me) via e-mail, because she only uses e-mails.

And couple of days ago, I came out to one very close friend via Skype as well, but he didn't have a camera, and I couldn't force him to buy one... And I never saw his emotions and reactions, only heard them...

Will I regret this to the rest of my life? Am I coward not coming out in person?

This was the right moment for me to come out, and they are the right people to come out to. That's what matters to me... It wouldn't have matter if I came out to my new friends, who are great but I only know them for 5 months... Nor was I able to come out in person years ago...

2. CrazyAwkward

You're not a coward. Coming out takes courage, whether it's done in person or not. I've come out in person and through the internet and text message. All that matters is you felt ready to tell people, and you did it.

With that said, congratulations on coming out! Try not to worry about how it was done, and just be glad that you were able to be more open with some of the people in your life :slight_smile:

3. Ninagrrl

Out Status:
    Out to everyone