1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm being outed.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by SaltyCaramel, Apr 8, 2015.

1. SaltyCaramel

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Last year, I started hooking up with my best friend. She was the first girl I had ever been involved with, and it was amazing and scary and just turned my world around a little. I very quickly realized I loved her in a non-friendship way and that I was a lesbian. Long story short we told a few of our close friends about our relationship (which didn't work out and I'm not bitter hahaha).

Anyway, fast forward to now, I'm a second semester freshman away from home at University. Every time I come home for breaks, I find out about another person in my hometown knowing about my relationship with my friend. A friend of mine goes to school in my town, and it's pretty safe to assume she's the one telling people. The problem is, the people she's telling go to my old high school, which my two younger siblings attend now. I am not out in my town ESPECIALLY because I don't want to tell my family yet. Part of that is because my parents are kind of judgmental/religious, and part is that I'm still new to the LGBT community and I'm not totally accepting of myself yet. I know that I'll get there and I do plan on eventually coming out, but I'm just not ready.

I'm afraid my siblings (and subsequently my parents) are going to find out soon, and there's nothing I can do to stop it. Has this happened to any of you and/or do you have any advice?

2. sedgeling