1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So I Told Someone...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by andrewuk, Apr 11, 2015.

1. andrewuk

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hi, I've posted in this forum before, but not for a while...

I work in a restaurant behind the bar, and last night one of my co-workers (we'll call him Bob) blurted out the question every closeted gay dreads, "So, are you gay?" :jawdrop:
    (He'd previously asked this question less-directly earlier that evening, and I managed to dodge it, but he did say he was bi-sexual, - I don't know if he was serious or not).

I paused for a moment, and then he got called away to a table.

A couple of the waiters came over, one was oblivious (we'll call him John) to what Bob had just asked, but the other (we'll call him Bill) had over heard, and said "Did he just ask you what I think he asked you?!" He wasn't impressed.

But John (the oblivious one), looked up and said, "What?", my stomach churned more, Bill said, "He just asked Andrew," (me) "if he's gay! You can't just ask that and then disappear!"

Then John turned to me, and asked, "Are you gay?", I paused, and my stomach churned again, then Bill cut in saying, "If he is, that's his business." (To be honest, my heart was warmed so much by how Bill, - a happily married man with two children, - was defending the LGBT community).
    Anyway, - cutting a out some dialogue, I looked at John and said "Yes, but my family don't know." He didn't believe me at first, asking if I was 'pulling his leg', but I stood my ground. And he took it really well, - I knew he would because he's a really nice person, - if not a little upfront. Haha. So now, two people know, - John and Bill (I think Bill knows anyway, he must have over heard).