1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dilemma

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by SecretSavior91, May 20, 2015.

1. SecretSavior91

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    I am a 23 year old graduate student. I have been struggling with my sexuality for years, but especially the past year. I am trying to find the courage to come out, but I am still confused about what I want or what I should do for reasons I will explain below.

I have been involved with a girlfriend since high school, on and off. We broke up for a period of time in college, but remained close and she initiated a relationship again with me last year during our senior year of college. I was hesitant at first, but then finally decided to give it a try last summer again. We have been together for the past year.

I enrolled in graduate school out of state, in part to start fresh and independently I guess. That did not happen as planned because my girlfriend ended up with a job in the exact same city. Now, a year into graduate school, we have moved in together in a townhouse.

Last year, I dated a man during my last 6 weeks of college. We broke up, but I was happy that I had explored a relationship with another man, despite the fact it was unhealthy because I suspected him of cheating and dishonesty, plus the relationship was headed nowhere fast as he was 29, out, and I was moving away and secretly closeted. I do not regret this relationship because I was single at the time, and it was a private decision that I made for myself to explore my sexuality.