1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Schisms within the gay community?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by alilnervous, Jun 13, 2015.

1. alilnervous

So, I am fairly new to the gay community and have been reading alot about what it means to be a panromantic heterosexual, namely whether what I am is considered to be gay. I've read threads on here and various other forums and have found, although 3/4 of people are accepting and understanding that what you are is who you say you are, there have been quite a few that disregard it as a legitimate sexuality and don't regard it as gay.

I would've thought I was okay with it, but recently I had a run in with a bisexual male who told me that I'm not gay, with a snidey chuckle after I told him I had feelings for guys sometimes. Similarly, my roommate has disregarded it as simply that I am straight and that you can just, "tell".

I wonder what you guys think? I have no idea. Seems there is some schisms in the gay community and it scares me. If you feel hesitant to voice your opinion, please don't be, I'd rather the truth than anything. But what I can say is that what the above people said were pretty hurtful :help:.

2. XenaxGabby

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Well if you identify as pansexual (meaning attraction to anyone regardless of gender identity) then you're not completely gay or straight.

3. alilnervous