1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gay clubs

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by blah, Dec 8, 2008.

1. blah

I'm planning on going sometime soon and it'll be a first time. Any advice on what to expect? Should I go alone or with a friend?

2. crystaltriforce

i have never been to any clubs, but from what i hear it's better to go with a friend.

3. Markio

Well, I have the same dilemma and want similar advice on how to prepare.

See, I met this girl at a LGBT community learning workshop at my college; she's straight, and a junior. I've quickly become great friends with her and her friends as well--so much so that she's invited me to a gay dance club let's call "LionFire". We would be dancing from 10PM to 2AM, she says. She's worried I'll be afraid because it's my first time at one of these things, and that the music is loud, and strange men will probably grab me playfully over to dance with them, and that there will be freaking and men in their underwear.

I really want to go because it would be an "educational" experience and I also like hanging out with my new friends-- I also think that by going I would be facing any fears I have and overcoming them.

But I'm afraid that I'll be uncomfortable with the noise level and embarrassed of dancing in front of people. Would it be crazy to bring earplugs? Are there any tactics someone would recommend to help get into the groove of things, or at least to make this occasion as smooth as possible so that I don't have a bad night and disappoint my friends?

4. s5m1