1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

self doubt

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by devushka, Dec 17, 2008.

1. devushka

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I'll try to keep this fairly brief, but lots of thoughts are floating through my head and I can't sleep, so sorry in advance if this is too long or muddled.

OK, so I had been questioning for a couple of years and finally decided to come out as gay this fall when I started college. I was only out to a few friends at college and then a couple of LGBT groups on campus which I joined to get to know people. I got home on winter break a few days ago and yesterday my mom confronted me about my orientation. I'm really close to my family and talk to them a lot . I let something slip on the phone a few months ago when I was trying to date a girl. I guess my mom had been wondering since then and never talked to me about it until she saw me in person. My family is really liberal about homosexual issues, so I wasn't really expecting a problem with coming out, but I was sort of surprised when she mentioned it and wasn't really ready to fully come out to her. But she asked, so I told her the truth--that I'm really only sexually attracted to girls. My problem is that I don't think she, or my sisters (who I tried to tell at the end of the summer--we're really close) actually believe me. My mom started to tell me about my uncle's friend who thought he was gay, but then ended up getting married (I don't know him, maybe he was bi or something). I stood my ground and just told her not to worry and that I'd handle it, but right now I wasn't interested in dating guys, but it just opened up this huge thing of self doubt.