1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Coming Out Letter

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by LesbianAngel, Jul 16, 2015.

1. LesbianAngel

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Dear Mom,
    I write this letter to you now not because I want to, but because I know I have to. There is this part of me that you don't know about simply because of societal pressures and you, my family, I have been running away from my identity for almost 3 years. But finally, almost a year ago, I met someone who (made me question more in the first place) helped me to come to terms with who I am - I am a lesbian.

By this time you are probably asking yourself a million question . Why is my daughter gay? What did we do to make her gay? What will everyone else think? - those are just a few questions that I think you will be wondering. I am hoping that I will be able to tell you much of what I want to say, but in case things get left out, I am writing you this letter to give me another chance to say what's on my mind. In any case, I'd like to tell you before we get into all of that, that I am the happiest that I've ever been. I've been dating someone for almost a year now. I know that you know her already, but I'd like for you to meet her and see us for who we really are. I am no longer lying to myself, my family or my friends.

Alright, so that first thing I want you to know is that I have always felt I have been a lesbian, this is not a temporary phase, and it is not something I ever "chose" or "decided" to be, I've thought about it a lot, and as best as I can remember, I first felt that I was a lesbian around age 12, 13 or 14. Around age 13 or the beginning of middle school was when I felt this way and was sure of it.