1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

27year old and deep in the closet, need advice.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Aviator182, Jul 30, 2015.

1. Aviator182

Wow, I can't believe that I've finally joined an LGBT forum. A little bit about me, I am 27 years old and have known I've been gay for a very long time. I am a Certified Flight Instructor, a group that really does not approve of gays. I mean come on we all have to be straight chasing women all of the time and honestly hard a$$es. lol I've hidden who and what I am. I am not sure I can do this any longer. Here's my story. I've known I was gay since probably the 8th grade. No never had a gay experience, not ready for that. I've tried to hide this by denying it, dating women, praying that I could change, and hoping it was just a phase. I want to come out and live my life and stop living a lie. I just don't know when and how to do this. I don't have any gay friends to talk to about this. Live in a small town. I've always told myself I can't be gay. I like camping, hiking, shooting target matches, fishing, driving fast cars. All of the so called manly things. I belong to the free masons, carrying on something that's been in my family for 100 years. Let's just say I don't think they would approve to much of having an open gay. I feel like I am ready to come out, maybe, just really scared. I still live with my mother while I am looking to relocate to a larger flight school 2000 miles away from where I currently live and finishing my bachelors degree. I don't know if she would accept it. It scares me. She is a single mother and we're close. I am her only kid and she had been bugging me about when I am going to settle down with a girl and give her some grandkids. :frowning2: She also keeps trying to set me up and I have to make up an excuse as to why I can't. My mother does have a cousin that's lesbian and they're best friends. She