1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

College Roommate

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Nick1020, Aug 13, 2015.

1. Nick1020

Gender Pronoun:
    Other
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm leaving for college in a few days. I'm gay, I don't know how my roommate identifies. I'm curious how people initiated that conversation of informing their roommate that they might be having boyfriends or over. How exactly does that conversation go? Just leave it until I do bring a boyfriend over? How does one handle this issue in the heteronormative society we live in?

2. Ticklish Fish

have you guys talked before your moving in?

i have no roommate experience in college but im sure there's some way that could ease into conversation

3. Nick1020

Gender Pronoun:
    Other
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    We've texted a little, but not much. I know nothing about him beyond his Facebook.

4. SunSparks

I would not leave it until you do bring someone over. If you do plan on having someone over, then it is good to try to get it out of the way early on so you have an opportunity to switch rooms if your roommates takes real conflict with it. I know for where I go, although it is a pretty liberal, people rarely have conflicts with roommates when it comes to sexuality. You can be pretty surprised at how many people really don't care. Just try to ease it in early on and hope your roommate will be smart enough to accept it.

5. Lyana

I agree with SunSparks. It would be nice if you could be 100% confident it would be no issue and just bring the boyfriend over whenever, but reality isn't always like that.

In the end, coming out to your roommate is rather similar to coming out to anyone else. It's only the outcome that is different. If they really can't handle it, I hope you have the possibility to change rooms.