1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out as FTM trans when i'm the only "girl"

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Mateo, Aug 25, 2015.

1. Mateo

Hi everyone I'm Mateo and I'm new to EC. over the last few years I'v come to except the fact that I am female-to-male transgender. I haven't come out to anyone that i'm trans yet and while i'm confidant the reception from most of the people I care about will be positive, my parents remain another matter.

Out of four children (three from my dad) I am the only "female" which is something both of my parents have cherished, especially my mom. I'v grown up hearing stuff like "your my only daughter" "your my baby girl" etc. Its stuff that, I reluctantly do find endearing but also makes me terrified to come out as i'm afraid to hurt them.

I know my mom especially would be upset because she seems to cling to the fact that i'm "female" tightly. I have a guilty secret that when my mom was pregnant with my baby brother I hoped he would be a girl so that It would take the only girl presser off of me.

My other fear is that if they do except me I will no longer be as important to them. Growing up I think being the only "girl" saved me from falling into the "middle child" syndrome.

Ultimately I'm terrified of being forgotten or letting the people I love down by being who I am"

I could really use some advise as I have know where else to turn.

2. sharkweek

As sickening and stressful as it may be, there isn't really an easy way to come out. You're a bit older than me, so I don't know if you live with your parents, which may change the situation a bit - space is really needed throughout this.

Your mother is going to be hurt, heartbroken even- but within time she will probably learn to accept that you're still her child and all that love she felt for you before is still there. It just takes a long time to happen, unfortunately.