1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Should I Do?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Ivory James, Sep 8, 2015.

1. Ivory James

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi everybody, I am new to Empty Closets, and no one in the world knew that I am a lesbian until this post. I am just here for some advice and comfort i guess. I am a little on the edge when it comes to the thought of telling my family. In the past my relationships were not the best with them. I was very depressed, stressed, and had a habit of pushing everyone away even when I didn't know or want to. Thankfully this summer it has been so much better, and my relationships have grown strong, but I don't want me coming out to ruin that. I know deep down that if it were to ruin it then it probably wouldn't be real progress in the first place but it still bothers me. In the past conversations about the ever growing topic of legalizing same sex marriage came up between me and my dad. He said he was okay with it, but it didn't really look or seem like he supported it, and that was when I was just realizing my sexuality so it really scared me. Me being gay would not make my parents think to kick me out, but I don't want that tension that I felt in that conversation, or that relationship I worked so hard to receive demolished in one word. I also really do not like confrontation. I don't want them to think i am lying, going through a phase, or trying to get attention, and I wouldn't now how to deal with it if they did. In the past I have led them to believe that I was straight out of this fear which doesn't really help. If I were to come out and something were to go wrong, I wouldn't have anywhere to go. Do you think I should wait to tell them, if not what should I do?

2. bubbles123

bubbles123 Guest

Hey welcome to EC!