1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Out On Facebook (Please Help)

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by sophieee, Sep 15, 2015.

1. sophieee

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    So, lately I've been wanting to come out as bisexual to the people at my school. My mom has known for months, my sister knows, so do a couple other family members and most of my friends (but not all of them). I know that there's bound to be some homophobes at my school, but I honestly don't really care anymore. I used to get made fun of a lot in middle school, but people have really grown up since I started high school, (I'm a sophomore now) and people leave me alone. I still don't have any more friends than I used to, and I don't really talk to or interact with about 98% of the people who go to my school anyway. So I figure that I don't really have much to lose. And if I get made fun of, I can handle it. I don't let things like that get to me as much as I used to.

As far as I know, none of my close friends at school are homophobic. Except one of them last year said something along the lines of "I always feel weird when one of my friends comes out to me as bisexual or lesbian because I feel like they're gonna hit on me" but I don't really care, honestly. I've never hit on her before and I'm not gonna hit on her now. If she feels that uncomfortable she can stop hanging out with me.

Anyway. I want to come out via Facebook status. I know that may sound like a stupid idea to some of you, but that's how everyone is doing it these days. It's really the most effective way. I mean, what else am I gonna do? Stand up in front of everyone at lunch and yell "hey I'm bisexual"?