1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parents Have Rejected me after coming out

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by ND1993, Oct 7, 2015.

1. ND1993

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi Everyone

I recently came out to my parents and unfortunately things have taken a turn for the worst. I never knew they would have reacted like this but it just sucks. Im an international student studying in the USA and they were my primary means of support. My dad called me this morning and told me that Im pretty much on my own unless I change.

Is there any where I can get assistance for my situation? Im in my last year of college and am just hopeless now that im going to be able to finish. I can't work anywhere off campus as my visa does not allow. Even if I were to work while being full time it would not cover my tuition and bills (I have alot of debt built up via credit cards). However my primary concern now is being able to get through the month and atleast be able to still eat and pay rent and the basics. He still has not paid my tuition.

If anyone can give me advice or links on where I an go to get help it would be great. I just feel very lost as im now on the other side of the world by myself and cannot do a darn thing.

2. Spirits

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I know that this won't be that helpful , but.
    Could you at least lie? just for the financial support?
    Tell your dad that you were "joking" or that it was just a "phase" just until you finish your studies.
    Then you can finally come out to them for real.

3. ND1993

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Well he pretty much told me i need to come home if I want them to help me out. I could lie but why do i wnt to be around people like that:frowning2:

4. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone