1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Telling coworkers

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by thoughtbubble, Oct 21, 2015.

1. thoughtbubble

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hello, I am debating on telling my coworkers that I'm gay. I am a teacher. There are openly gay teachers (to the staff not students; the students just know about some of them) at the school. The group of teachers I am planning on telling is my close group of coworkers. When we hang out, they talk about their life but I always have to be reserved. I am also tired of having them try to set me up with their female friends. What do you think?

2. littleraven

If you are comfortable telling them, then it should be fine. :slight_smile:

3. guitar

Work is sort of my final frontier as far as being out. I'm out to some (I've told personally), others I think have heard from others I am. But at work, I also try and keep my private life private.

I know a number of gay teachers, some are out to their coworkers, some aren't. The thing is, when you shy away from ever mentioning your personal life, I've learned a lot of people tend to assume you're gay. I've heard this from multiple people in my life, especially before coming out "you never talked about your personal life, especially not girls, so we just kind of assumed you were gay and figured you'd tell us on your time."

If you did come out to your fellow teachers and support staff, would you want your students to know? Also, what grade do you teach?

4. thoughtbubble

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I teach at the middle school level. I would not want my students to know just to avoid any drama. The other day I did tell them that I went through a break up and they just assumed it was a girl....I did not correct them.

5. guitar