1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OK, I need some advice... (Long story...)

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Aurelia, Oct 24, 2015.

1. Aurelia

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Okay, this is going to be a long story, but please bear with me.

So I recently discovered/accepted that I was transgender a couple months ago, after so many years of not really knowing or understanding this aspect of myself. I've been married for over a decade now, almost since I graduated high school. My wife is pretty liberal and open-minded, so I thought that, while there'd probably be some difficulty with it, that she'd be pretty accepting, or at least would want to try to make an effort to accept me. I thought our love was strong enough to withstand anything.

But it didn't end up going that way. She completely rejected me. She said she was going to leave me, and that I had completely disgusted her, that she found me repulsive.

She didn't leave right away, but made it clear that she would as soon as she had time to get her affairs in order. The first couple of days I spent trying to get her to understand, to elaborate on things I maybe hadn't been clear on. I told her that I didn't want surgeries or anything like that. I told her that all I wanted was her to know who I am. I tried to explain gender identity. None of it helped.

Then, on the third day, I woke up feeling as if the person I had been before was a complete stranger. All of the feelings and thoughts I'd had that I was female had disappeared. It was, and still is, even in retrospect, a very bizarre experience.