1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I come out to my friend?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Alder, Oct 29, 2015.

1. Alder

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    (Re: my sexuality)

There's a friend I'm really close to and I'm considering coming out to her. A few worries though:

-I used to have feelings for her, and even to this day, although I don't anymore, I still sometimes feel...something. I don't want to make things awkward, and I definitely don't want this to come between us in any way.

-I'm not good at trusting people with stuff like this, and part of me will probably always worry she (or anybody else really) will tell somebody else (maybe by accident, or probably not deliberately, but still). In which case it won't be the end of the world, but I'd rather it be in my hands. The reason I want to come out now despite that is because I don't think I'll ever be 100% worry-free about this, and will probably always have a little bit of anxiety over wondering if I should trust someone. If I don't come out to her, I'm pretty sure I'm going to use this same excuse to never feel safe enough to come out to anyone.

-Although she is fairly open and accepting, she is more or less clueless about a lot of LGBT+ stuff. When I talked to her about it in general before, she often resorted to talking and joking about stereotypes, even though I knew she wasn't trying to be offensive. I'm just a bit apprehensive that she might not understand or get the right idea of what I'm trying to say.

-One last thing. If she asks how I know I like girls, I can not tell her it was mainly because of developing feelings for her many years back. I'll really have 0 idea how to answer this question if it comes up, but I don't want to blatantly lie.