1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What to do?!!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by bn24, Nov 5, 2015.

1. bn24

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi everyone,

I'm in my first year of uni and I'm really struggling. I'm a closeted, straight acting 19 year old. It's only in the past year or so that I've finally started to accept to myself that I am gay and I wasn't prepared for how isolating it would be, especially since starting university.

I want to come out but at the same time it feels unnecessary until I'm in a relationship but at the same time I have no idea how to meet gay guys unless I'm openly gay myself. It feels like a bit of a viscous circle.

I realise that I can come out whenever I want but there seems to be so much holding me back! All my closest friends are boys and although I know they won't care, I'm worried that they may see my in a different way and treat me slightly differently than before. The last thing I want is my best friend of 8 years to start feeling awkward around me. I'm just really conscious that I don't come across gay so it feels like when I finally do come out it'll be more of a shock.

I also don't have the slightest clue how I should come out if I do, like who I should tell first or whether I should tell it to their face or in a letter or something or whether I should tell everyone all at once.

If anyone has any advice on any of this it would be super greatly appreciated!

Thankyou!!

2. Tbob

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi, welcome to EC.

It's good that you know your friends won't care. You have good friends. If you come out to them things may be a little different at first, friends can be a little wary about bringing up the subject or joking with you and might look for your lead. I'm confident they won't treat you differently after the initial adjustment period.