1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Venting Frustration (Long post, shield your eyes!)

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by HeronsStorm, Jan 22, 2009.

1. HeronsStorm

So, this is my first time posting at this site... Hi! I was looking for a support site for a friend of mine who's just 'come out of the closet' to me, and I found this. It looked pretty good so I decided to join it.

Anyway, on to why I'm posting on the Support and Advice board, mostly just to vent and get it off my chest. At school among my friends I'm basically known as the... Listener, I guess is the best way to describe it. I'm the friend that always keeps a level head and keeps their lips zipped when it comes to secrets. They come to me with their problems, I promise not to tell anyone, and they get out their frustrations/fears/angers/sadness to me. Usually then I give them advice and all is happy and wonderful again.

My trouble is, I do like being the Listener, but I don't have anyone to talk too. I'm generally a very disconnected person and brush my emotions into the closet, I have a very harsh belief that they will make me weak. I generally have one person who vents to me the most, we joke that she's my sister though we look NOTHING alike. But she vents to me often and goes through depression, anger, all the bad stuff a lot. Sometimes I find myself thinking "You KNOW what you're doing wrong, you KNOW it's going to make you feel bad later, WHY THE HELL ARE YOU NOT LEARNING THE FIRST TIME?". Not that I actually say that. Now I'm starting to pick up on it, and I find I can get depressed when she's like this, or my emotions (which are supposed to be ignored) go on freak out and I turn into a wreck.