1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coping with being closeted

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by dreaminpengiun, Dec 5, 2015.

1. dreaminpengiun

Hi everyone!

I'm new to EC, and I joined because I need help with being in the closet. I really want to come out right now, but honestly I'm not in a safe enough environment to do that. There's way too much homophobia all around me. I'll probably have to wait a couple more years until college.:icon_sad: Until then, how did you cope with being closeted? I'm really lonely and depressed...

2. ANerdWhoCares

Hi, welcome to EC!

I'm really sorry to hear that you're in an unsafe homophobic environment, but what do you mean by that; Family? Friends? Society? All 3? To my knowledge, Georgia (assuming by "Atlanta area," you mean Georgia...) is kind of a crappy place for a gay teen to be, but that doesn't make things impossible! Your idea to wait until college is probably not a bad one, considering your circumstances, but I do know some methods of coping with the closet. The first is right in front of you, right now; Empty Closets. I alone have dedicated all my time on this site to helping others, and there are hundreds of others on this site that will do the same. All you have to do is ask. :grin:

Second, help another. If you spend some of your time here on EC as an ally to someone else,mane help them with their problems, it's a real confidence and motivational booster. I know it's worked for me. :slight_smile:

And thirdly, have a plan. Once your're ready to leave for college, know a good place to go. Some places are more tolerant than others, do your homework and research about where LGBT groups are accepted and supported before you head off to start a new life. College is a great place to be yourself without worrying about what others think of you, so don't go to a place that restricts that freedom.