1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feeling uncomfortable that I haven't come out to particular friends

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by calleigh, Dec 21, 2015.

1. calleigh

This is maybe a bit of an odd one...

I'm in the process of figuring out my sexuality (current best description: not as straight as I always assumed I was). I'm very lucky that I have a lot of LGBT friends - I started playing roller derby last year, and over half my league are gay - it has been eye opening.

I spent a while working out a lot of stuff in my head before I felt able to talk to anyone about it. The first person I 'came out' (I use the term loosely, as I'm still not clear how to define myself, so it's more 'discussed it with' I guess) to is my best friend from roller derby - she is the one person who I feel like I can genuinely talk about anything with, and is also bisexual, so I knew she'd be understanding (and helpful!) on that front.

I've since discussed it with 3 or 4 other friends - a couple also from derby, and another close, non-derby friend. With all of these, it has just sort of come up in conversation - with one we were discussing the proportion of our team who identify as non-straight, and she said she felt she was straight-ish, so it was quite natural for me to talk about what I'd been feeling.