1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I come out to my grandparents?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by sunshine360, Jan 1, 2016.

1. sunshine360

sunshine360 Guest

Hi. I am new to EC (but have lurked here for a while).

I haven't came out to many people, besides a few friends and my parents.

My grandparents are conservative Christians who I assume to be homophobic, but they have never directly told me their thoughts on homosexuality. But my grandfather has said "That's disgusting!" when he saw gay relationships on TV, so I am pretty sure he is homophobic.

A part of me wants to tell them, but another part of me is hesitant. I don't want them to get upset or be angry at me. I'm already not the closest to my grandparents and I don't want to completely ruin my relationship with them. I am not sure what my motivation is for telling them, but I guess I don't want them to be as shocked when they found out I am dating someone.

Should I just bite the bullet and tell them? Or wait?

2. Connorcode

Connorcode Guest

Don't tell them - at least not yet.
    Perhaps it would be best to subtly bait them into showing their feelings about LGBT+ subjects, since you're not sure of their views on the matter.
    Knowing their views means you can make a accurate judgement on whether to tell them or not.

#2 Connorcode, Jan 1, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 1, 2016
  3. Lemongrass

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    How did your parents react? Maybe they could offer some guidance in dealing with your grandparents.

4. sunshine360

sunshine360 Guest

My parents are in a bit of denial about it, but they overall accept it. They are Christians, but are not homophobic.