1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Are there lots of openly gays/lesbians where you live?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by CoolUser123, Jan 9, 2016.

1. CoolUser123

In my high school there were tons of openly gays, lesbians and bisexuals however, I rarely see them in my university. And they are almost non existent in my town. Almost everyone knows each other here... But it's certainly not a homophobic town

2. violagirl89

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    There were not a lot of openly gay people in my high school (class of 2007!) but funnily enough, quite a few of the people that I graduated with either came out as a gay or bisexual a few years after high school was over. I had an idea that I was a lesbian in high school but it definitely was not the best environment for people that were "different" from the norm. I'm hoping that schools are a bit more accepting nowadays. I don't see too many gay people in my town, but I don't think the area is homophobic in any way.

3. Gamer4now

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Wow i wish i go to highschool where you went. But i dont see any lgbt couples or people anywhere near me. Trust me i look too (sometimes stare), but yeah sometimes it sucks to be in that situation.

4. eclair

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    There are literally no openly gay/lesbians where I live and go to school.
    But my country's pretty homophobic in general (anti-gay laws), so I don't blame them.
    (I wish I was in the OP's school)

5. Lone Dragon

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    There were a couple that were technically out in high school, but the rest were just circulating rumors of he said she said. In college more people are open about it, though still not a lot that I know.