1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to come out without labeling myself?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by OnceUponADream, Jan 11, 2016.

1. OnceUponADream

Out Status:
    A few people
    A few people in my life know that I'm not straight, though not the majority by far. To these people I'm out as a lesbian (though I did kind of express some uncertainty when I came out). Point is, I'm pretty sure I'm not straight. I've tried to pinpoint exactly what my orientation is to no avail so I've decided to just not label myself. Attempting to label my sexuality on the whole has been incredibly frustrating, depressing and upsetting. I've been questioning my identity for at least 2 years and in that time I've mainly concealed my feelings because I wanted to wait until I knew exactly what I was but I'm beginning to think that I may never know exactly what I am. Actually not labeling my sexuality is incredibly liberating to me and it feels right. The problem is, I don't exactly know how to communicate that to other people. Also I don't know how to explain this to the people I've already come out to as lesbian.

I just really don't want this to be a big deal. I want to come out casually and I want to do it without ever having to say exactly what I am. I guess I just feel like people may not take me very seriously if I don't label my orientation - especially my parents and its not exactly like most people have an intimate understanding of lgbt identities. I mean its not exactly like I could whip out a Kinsey scale and point to my exact score so people know who I'm into (if I even could do that).

Also can I even come out without knowing what I am exactly?

2. mychemromance99

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Yes. I kinda came out without labelling myself.
    Try and avoid even mentioning labels.