1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to various friends and family members?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by isofa, Jan 12, 2016.

1. isofa

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on here. I've seen a few responses to other people's threads and this seems like a very supportive and helpful community, so I thought I'd give it a try. I'm a 21 year old college male and am gay. I've known that something was different about my sexuality since middle school from what I can remember, but I only came out to myself as gay sometime during my sophomore year of college. Before that, I went from trying to convince myself that I was straight for a few years, to thinking that maybe I'm bi, but I know now that I am for sure gay. It took a while, but I am now proud of who I am and am completely unashamed of being gay. The difficult part now is coming out to people. I spontaneously came out to a college friend last summer and telling someone was a huge weight off my shoulders. Since then, I've come out to a few of my friends and acquaintances when the situation called for it. Basically, my approach has been to just not make any effort to hide that I'm gay. For example, if my friends and I are having a conversation and someone brings up some guy I'm attracted to, I'll just that. Most of the time, my friends will pause and ask if I'm gay, they'll ask a few questions, then move on. So far all of the reactions I've received were pretty low key, as almost all of my friends are completely accepting of different sexualities.