1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Um a bit of an awkward situation

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by PurpleBuffoon, Jan 13, 2016.

1. PurpleBuffoon

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hi! I'm new to empty closets. I've been lurking around for a while so I decided to post now because I had some questions about coming out :slight_smile:
    Now, I am out currently to a lot of people I know, to some extent. The first person I came out to was my sister and then my two best friends, one of whom is a gay male. We will call my gay friend A. Then I came out to my parents/stepmother afterwards after they spoke to me about some things that were troubling me. This occurred months ago and I ended up coming out to pretty much the whole school since and I was very open and comfortable in my sexuality, especially since A and I were able to support each other.

So far, this sounds pretty much perfect right? Well, just a month ago I moved to a whole different state. I have gotten a job as well and I start school in less than a month. Now, the issue is now that I have moved, I don't know how to come out to people again, especially the people I am working with. I'm also concerned about what they will think about it. I normally dress in an androgynous manner, with my hair cut short and I often get mistaken for a boy. At the state I used to live in, I use to get stares from people, enough so that A commented on it. People have laughed at me in public saying "look, that's a girl" even though I was just walking and people have just been rude to me in general. So far none of that has happened in the new state that I just moved to, not even stares so I'm hoping that when I do come out again it will be easier. What I have noticed is that basically, where I live now just seems more diverse.