1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pretty Lost

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by EliseMarieJolie, Jan 21, 2016.

1. EliseMarieJolie

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I don't know how to talk about this so I'm just going to bumble around it. I'm 22 and looking back I've been attracted to women since I can remember. I can remember thinking about kissing a friend in high school. Yet, I'm at the same place I probably was when I was 17, except that now I can type what I think and feel out.

I'm not sure where to get started, or if I'm really ready to talk to anyone aloud about not being strictly straight. I was raised by an extremely conservative family and the idea of ever talking to family about this is terrifying.

I'm a recent college grad who's moved to a new city that knows it's time to start trying to be more like my true self, but I'm lost.

2. Florestan

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Well, I definitely wouldn't recommend talking to your family without having some solid support in place first. If you have some close friends, in your city or elsewhere, who would be accepting of your sexuality, they might be the best people to discuss it with.

I'm afraid I don't have much experience showing my true self to the rest of the world, so I can't give any advice about that. But I hope things work out well for you.

3. NateC7

Tell your closest friends first, the ones you absolutely trust.

Also like you did here, it could help to reach out to the lgbtq+ community. Not just for support, but for dating. You're still in the questioning stage and simple attraction won't be enough for an answer. Try dating girls, or if you don't want to call it dating, spend time with girls who you might have a romantic interest in or vice versa.

Hope this helps :slight_smile:

4. Cort