1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When is the best time to come out to a new straight friend

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Ido, Feb 6, 2016.

1. Ido

Ido

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi everyone! I know this topic has probably been covered but I couldn't find advise unique to my situation.

So to give you some background to myself, I am a 28 year old gay guy. I am out to a few family members and a few friends. Thing is, I am very reserved and I don't have a large group of friends. In fact last year I was depressed as I felt like I had no friends - the ones I was making were pretentious and high maintenance and that isn't the type of person I want to be. So one of my resolutions was to make at least 5 friends this year.

I started studying part time and have met some really cool people so far. One in particular is a guy I started chatting to in my class - we met at a vending machine and started chatting and hanging out in class. His a really cool guy, in fact I have found myself attracted to him - not just physically but his personality too. But I don't want to jump the gun or assume the attraction is mutual and after all I still want to be his friend. We have alot in common - similar career goals, even desire to go to the same city after studies. Either way, I am so comfortable with him and we even hangout after class and he walks me halfway to the bustop or I walk him halfway to his car. I am not trying to make it sound romantic, I guess friends do that too :slight_smile: