1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Living in someone else's Body...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by xErikx, Mar 1, 2016.

1. xErikx

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    This is my first time, being a part of a community that welcomes all genders and sexuality... so, here goes;

My name is Erik, I am 21 years old, and I am a closet trans man. Although I have touched on the subject lightly with my mother, she has no idea really what is going on. She more or less thinks that I just enjoy "cross dressing"...
    In my immediate family, it is just my mother, my older brother, and my 5 year old son...
    Which is one of the reasons I am closet;
    It feels more simple to explain to a family member what is going on inside me (when I have imagined doing so) than to explain these things to my son. To be quite honest, when I think about him knowing... It terrifies me. Would he hate me, if I came out? Would he not want anything to do with me, or feel like I "took his mom away"?

As messed up as it may sound to people, his happiness means more to me than my own. Yet...
    I feel lost. Have any of you had to go through a similar situation, and if so, how'd you get yourself through it? Did you transition.? Please, any help, advice, or words of encouragement would be greatly appreciated. Thank you, to all whom have read through this.

2. H20

H20

Let me start off by saying I am not a parent, however, I do have cousins around 5 years old and from my general knowledge about children as young as your son, I can say they're normally open-minded because they're still growing. If they see their parents are accepting of someone/something or does something themselves, due to being impressionable, they don't usually see things wrong with it.