1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Damn the torpedoes and all that

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by DocPJ, Apr 12, 2016.

1. DocPJ

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    So...

I already said hello "upstairs" in the welcome thread, but I'll give a little background so I don't have to backtrack and explain myself. Sorry for how long this is, but it's been inside me for a very long time.

I'm a trans-man and gay (I've known since I was eight) and so deep in the closet I've got cobwebs and dustbunnies for pals. :eusa_doh: I'm an FD paramedic in a very large city, in a state not known for being LGBT-friendly. I've had my share of fist-fights. (I'm not out, but I dress as a man as often as I can - people think I'm just an adorable *hack gag* "tom-boy".:bang: My fault, I suppose, for not coming clean with folks.

When I first met my husband 10 years ago (he's military, like me), I was upfront with him about almost everything. I told him: I'm no girly-girl, I'm not domesticated by any sense of the word - I don't cook, I don't clean. I swear like the Sailor I am, I drink like the Irishman I am, I like to fight and drink and ride my Springer like a demon, and I probably have a bigger cock than most men. He was cool with it, and we've been together since.

So, flash forward a decade...

I had a very intense convo with my paramedic partner (he's an uber-male gay, very much my type. We've been working together years.) So, two nights ago on our lunch break, he pops off with this: (edited for brevity)

Danny: "Pete, you know you're not a woman, right?"
    Me: (Looks down my pants.) "Yes I am. I like men. I'm married to a man."
    Danny: (waves his hand) "So? How long have you known?"
    Me: "I. Like. MEN."