1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Out as Bisexual to My Best (Homophobic) Friend

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by The Bitanic, Apr 19, 2016.

1. The Bitanic

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Hello everyone. I've been lurking on this site for a while and now I need some personal advice. (This post is kind of long, I apologize.)

I'm out to everyone: family, strangers, friends, etc. Ever since I graduated high school (2 years ago) I've been very open about my sexuality and never afraid to tell someone I'm bisexual if they ask. However, I have been keeping it a secret from my best friend.

She and I met Freshman year of high school. We were pretty good friends all throughout high school and then, after we graduated, we sort of stopped talking for no particular reason. After our first semester of college, we started talking again and became really close friends. She goes to a very conservative, very Christian college about an hour away from me and I go to a very liberal college. We have made lots of efforts to visit each other as often as possible and have an awesome time together.

Within the past year, we started sharing our secrets and fears with each other. We text all the time and realized we're basically like sisters as well as best friends.

So, on to the tough part: she's homophobic. Her family is extremely so and is very unaccepting towards people who are not cisgender and heterosexual. On top of that, they're very racist. The usual.

She is somewhat that way. Whenever the topic of homosexuality comes up, she gets very uncomfortable and tries to change the subject quickly. If someone in a movie mentions the word "gay" she gets awkward. I once told her about a girl who had a crush on me (I didn't like her back), and she thought it was bizarre that a girl would like another girl. I'm also quite sure that she doesn't really know what bisexuality is.