1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Now That I'm Out

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by EM68, Feb 28, 2009.

1. EM68

It's been a week since I came out to my parents. And nothing has changed. I have talked to my parents a few times and they have not brought up the topic at all. The only thing was on Monday my dad emailed me saying he was glad I confided in them, then he reminded me that AIDS is still out there and to be careful, plus I am new to the 'scene'. I emailed him back that I am taking things slow and I joined a couple of groups to meet people. Also I know that AIDS is still around and when the time comes I would take all cautions.

I don't know but they have not asked me at all about anything. My question is should I bring up the fact that I have been dating and joined a couple of meet up groups or should I wait for them to ask me? I know that they are going through an adjustment period right now even though they took it real well. I wonder if I should just give them info as they ask.

2. Greggers

My parents have not brought it up since i told them.

Every time i bring it up with thme, we fight. I told them the story about a random guy at wendys asking me if i was gay, and when my mom heard i said yes she got this look that tore a hole right through the middle of my heart. It was the most foul, disgusted, horrible look ever. Its as if i just told her that i drank a dead puppies blood or something! She says she accepts im going to be gay, but she is still adjusting to the fact that its not a shameful thing to hide from the world. The other times i talked to her about it, she just turned the entire thing into how im making her life horrible and how im a horrible son to her because i never help out and never talk to her, and she always seems to find a way to make me feel like my life is over.