1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I come out after so long?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Imploding, Jun 5, 2016.

1. Imploding

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I've been a gay-leaning bisexual for as long as I can remember. I'm now 30 and incredibly lonely. I've never been honest with anyone and it's really catching up with me. I don't feel happy with who I am but I know things will just get worse if I carry on like this.

I want to come out to my friends first as I know they're LGB friendly. But how do I explain that I've been lying for ten years? There's one friend whom I want to tell first, but one of my big fears is that he'll think I'm joking. Saying it two or three times, isn't going to be fun. I know some of my other friends might suspect but that doesn't make things any easier.

I'm thinking that I want to start with my friends, then my co-workers and finally tell some of my family. My family aren't exactly homophobic but I don't get on well with my Mum. She's always been extremely selfish in her expectations of her children and I know I'll be finishing off her fantasies about the sort of life I'm going to have. The problem is I think the only reason I'd want to tell her is to get things off my chest about all her snide put-downs over the years. I've avoided contact with her for the last few months because I'm sick of hiding my anger towards her.

But before I even consider that side of things, I thought it would be best to tell my friends, so that I have at least someone on my side. How should I do it? My instinct is that face to face is better. But I usually visit him at his house and his parents are always around. I'm starting to think that telling him over the phone might be better as he can then process things before we next have a drink.

How should I do it?

2. Nickw

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation: