1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

worried about what is to come

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by newlife77, Mar 12, 2009.

1. newlife77

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I am 31 and married and have just accepted that I am gay. I have been avoiding it for around 14 yrs. I had such a strong sence of denial and fear that I told myself I was mentally ill. I read up on many conditions and discovered one that held the same symptoms I was feeling (minus the attraction to men....I would not consider that) and sought out a psychiatrist. I was so educated on the symptoms and the condition that I convinced him I was sick. I failed to tell him the desires I had.

I have been on medication for 10 years and it has made my life a cloud ....(14 hrs of sleep a day and 30 pounds of fat). Those days are done, I am ready to live now.

I have stopped taking the medication for around three months and feel better than ever.

The problem is I am married and I have not told her what I have realized. I don't know how to do it and Im scared. I love her very much but I need to be honest with myself. I don't want to live a lie anymore.

2. newlife77

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    You are actually the first people I have told

3. tazz

tazz Guest

First off I just wanted to mention that you're very brave for admitting this to yourself after so many years of living in the closet. Now I really don't know how you would go about explaining this to your wife (and from your post I'm assuming you don't have kids, correct me if I'm wrong?).

If I was in your position I'd start off by telling her slowly without diving into it right away, maybe holding her hand and making her feel as comfortable as possible, and starting with something like:

"I need your advice on something...do you think it's worth living your life if you knew what you were living was a lie?"